Branch Permissions

When you create a Branch, you become the Branch Owner. Since Branches are personal workspaces within each Project for the Branch Owner, this grants you certain permissions that other Administrators, Members, or Guests may not have.

Branch Owner permissions include:

  • Ability to track edited files.
  • Add files.
  • Delete files.
  • Delete the Branch.
  • Create a Collection.
  • Edit a Collection.
  • Change Branch status.

Transfer Ownership

Since a Branch is a personal workspace, the Contributor who creates the Branch has more editing permissions on that Branch than other Contributors in the Project or organization. In some instances, a team may find a need to pass ownership of the Branch in order to take over the work from that Branch.

Simply put, passing ownership simply means you're creating a Child Branch then archiving its parent.

  1. Navigate to the Branch that needs new ownership.
  2. Click the New Branch... button to create a child Branch.
  3. Near the Branch title at the top of the window, click the ••• menu.
  4. Select Archive.

Once the parent is archived, the Child Branch is automatically promoted to parent. From here, continue the work the original Contributor started.

Branch Status

Change the status of any Branch to signify progress.
Branch statuses include:

  • No Status.
  • Work In Progress.
  • Open for Feedback.
  • In Review.

A Branch status is automatically updated to In Review when a review is requested.

Branch Overview

The Overview of each Branch includes quick access to Master files, Active Branches, Recent Activity, Review Requests, and About.

  • Recent Activity is a log of all Project activity for reference.
  • Review Requests appear if any Branch in that Project is In Review.
  • Use About to help your colleagues understand the project’s focus or to link to existing documentation about the project. Markdown is supported.

Was this article helpful?